EASA Part 145 Repair Station Certification

EASA Part 145, similar to FAR Part 145, applies to the aircraft maintenance sector. It is the standards for the certification and operation of an aircraft maintenance organization, such as a repair station, and its employees.

The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) regulates and enforces the standards for civil aviation safety in Europe. They serve the same purpose as the Federal Aviation Administration does for the United States.

The agency’s duties include:

  • advising the EU on new legislation
  • establishing safety standards in Europe and Member states
  • authorization of non-EU operators
  • continual safety research
  • and the certification of aircraft types and parts

They also certify the organizations that are behind designing, manufacturing, and maintaining aeronautical products.

EASA was responsible for certifying the world’s largest airliner - the Airbus A380. EASA and the FAA are the primary agencies that certify new aircraft.

It is important to note that the EASA is not yet responsible for issuing safety regulations for airports and air traffic management systems.

EASA Part 145 And FAR 145

EASA Part 145 is very similar to FAR Part 145. Both parts regulate the standards for qualifying as a repair station and the maintenance requirements for aircraft and aircraft articles.

Once a repair station has a Part 145 certification, they will be a recognized maintenance organization worldwide. However, the applicable rules must be adhered to.

EASA will accept some non-EASA Member state based maintenance organizations and repair stations as long as a recognized Authority certifies them. For an agency to be considered an Authority by EASA, their standards must meet standards equivalent to EASA 145.

The FAA is a recognized Authority by EASA, due to a bilateral aviation safety agreement. This means that U.S. repair stations that are certified by the FAA under FAR 145 can also be accepted by the EASA.

The FAA certified repair stations still have to comply with any maintenance special conditions that are contained in EASA 145 that are not in FAR 145.

To make the differences between EASA 145 and FAR 145 transparent, they are outlined in Maintenance Implementation Procedures (MIPs) agreed between the EASA and the FAA.

They can also be found in the Appendix to EASA 145, as well as in EASA Administrative & Guidance Materials Part Two: Maintenance, Section Three: Temporary Guidance Leaflet (TGL) 22.

For more information and updates regarding EASA part 145, sign-up for our free Newsletter.

Share this page:
Was this information useful? Please pay it forward. Here's how..

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.

Click here to sign up

for our FREE Newsletter
"Aviation Safety News"

Aircraft Technicians